Back to top anchor

Active families

Active Families help whānau to lead healthier and more active lives.

Active Families help whānau to lead healthier and more active lives through encouragement and education, nutritional guidance and advice, realistic goal setting, and ongoing support. There are currently 15 Active Families programmes in New Zealand, usually these are for five to 18 year olds and their families.

To date, 10 DHBs also have funding for nutrition and activity programmes for before school checks. These programmes are for obese four year olds identified at the before school check. These DHBs have established a range of family programmes. These vary from the Active Families approach of group or individual activities, to positive parenting programmes or kaiawhina home visits.

In the 2018 Active Families survey, 85% of families became more active, 90% improved their diet and 98% noticed health benefits.

To learn more about this programme, take a look at how Teara and her whānau are healthier and happier with Active Families.

If you are interested in accessing this support, and your family would like to join a programme, you can contact your general practice. GPs or practice nurses can refer overweight children. Well Child Tamariki Ora nurses can also refer children so long as they contact the GP. Alternatively, you can contact your local provider for more information, details of providers across New Zealand are given below.

Justin Mitchell, Sport Canterbury, PO Box 2606, CHRISTCHURCH, Phone: 028 2556 2092, Email: Justin.mitchell@sportcanterbury.org.nz

Kate McCartney, Sport Wellington, PO Box 24-148, WELLINGTON, Phone: 04 380 2070 ext 225, Email:grx@sportwellington.org.nz

Tianua Poto, Sport Hawke’s Bay, PO Box 7537, Taradale, NAPIER, Phone: 06 845 9336 Ext 711, Email: tianuap@sporthb.net.nz

Cecelia Mcilroy-Moa, IronMaori Green Prescription Programme, Unit 1/129 Maraekakaho Road, HASTINGS, Phone: 021 210 9517, Email: cc@ironmaori.co.nz

Kayla Jones, Sport Taranaki, PO Box 5049, NEW PLYMOUTH, Phone: 06 759 0930, Email: Kayla.jones@sporttaranaki.org.nz

Stephanie Broughton, Sport Gisborne Tairawhiti, PO Box 1391, GISBORNE, Phone: 06 868 9943 ext 703, Email: stephanieb@sportgisborne.org.nz

Deb Byers, Sport Whanganui, PO Box 516, WHANGANUI, Phone: 06 349 2325, Email: deb@sportwhanganui.co.nz

Marcus Howie, Sport Manawatu, PO Box 797, PALMERSTON NORTH, Phone: 06 357 5349, Email: grx@sportmanawatu.org.nz

Tania Heap, Sport Northland, PO Box 1492, WHANGAREI, Phone: 09 437 9612, Email: grx@sportnorth.co.nz

Maddi Schmidt, Otara Health Charitable Trust PO Box 61474, Otara, AUCKLAND, Phone: 09 265 2746, Email: referrals@otarahealth.org.nz

Eve Coltman, Sport Otago, PO Box 969, Dunedin, Phone: 027 403 1527, Email: activefamilies@sportotago.co.nz

Mandy McCabe, Sport Waikato, PO Box 46, HAMILTON, Phone: 021 806 254, Email: mandym@sportwaikato.org.nz

Nadine Young, Sport Southland, PO Box 224, INVERCARGILL, Phone: 03 211 2253, Email: activefamilies@sportsouthland.co.nz

Josh Simpkins, Harbour Sport, PO Box 300-633 Albany, AUCKLAND Phone: 09 415 4659, Email: grx@harboursport.co.nz

Alannah Thomson, Sport Auckland, PO Box 26599, Epsom, AUCKLAND Phone: 022 043 1295, Email: alannah@sportauckland.co.nz

Karen Stanton, Sport Bay of Plenty, PO Box 13355, TAURANGA, Phone: 07 308 8304, Email: karens@sportbop.co.nz

Lena Kairau, Sport Bay of Plenty (Western BOP), PO Box 13355, TAURANGA, Phone: 07 578 0016, Email: lenak@sportbop.co.nz

Emma Brandl, Marlborough Primary Health, PO Box 1091, BLENHEIM, Phone: 03 520 6263, Email: activefamilies@marlboroughpho.org.nz

Comment & Share